Indian summer

“a warm, calm spell of weather occurring in autumn, especially in October and November” 

[the Met office meteorological glossary]

“We could be in for an Indian summer” is something I remember hearing when I was a kid.  The air still and silent in the heat of late afternoon, the smell of warm tarmac and cut grass.  T-shirts, shorts and lemonade sparkles.  I never really knew what they were talking about, I just knew it sounded good.  A romantic yearning for far off lands and cultures I had yet to experience.  It fuelled my young imagination as I sat in a sweltering classroom in the middle of September, staring out of the window at my future self, travelling the globe through endless Indian summers.

To be honest though I don’t really remember the warm weather lasting that far into October and I’m pretty sure I never experienced it in November.  I always assumed the phrase had something to do with India and the weather there but after reading a recent article I now realise that it may come more from Native Americans and the American east coast.

Either way, as we head into November with a forecast of 25 degrees this week in Bordeaux, I feel I may finally be experiencing a true Indian summer.  Hopefully it will be another lazy Sunday at the beach.  Huge sand dunes covered in wild thyme and immortelle (an aromatherapist’s dream) with pristine never-ending beaches and deep golden sand.  Mesmerising waves and beautiful clean surf.  I could sit there for hours…..

Here’s a little visual of my Indian summer – enjoy ♥

The best way to get around Bordeaux in this weather is bicycle

The best way to get around Bordeaux in this weather is bicycle

Watching the kids splash around in the miroir d'eau in the warm evening

Watching the kids splash around in the miroir d’eau in the warm evening

Enjoying the good weather at Lacanau beach

Enjoying the good weather at Lacanau beach

Sampling some local food and wine at the Bô Bar

Sampling some local food and wine at the Bô Bar

Admiring the waves at Le Grand Cohort

Admiring the waves at Le Grand Cohort

Watching the sun set over the Atlantic

Watching the sun set over the Atlantic

2 comments

Want to comment?

