Inspiration, issues & comment

Now what?

Breakfast

Our wonderful housesit in 110 acres of rolling French countryside has become a 26 square metre apartment on the ground floor of a busy Bordeaux street.  The earplugs are back in use and the rent per month is just under what we paid in bills for a whole year in our isolated farmhouse.

Certainly a shock to the system as well as the bank account.  We’ve had to leave half our stuff in storage at the farm just to fit into this tiny studio.

Oddly enough though I have slept better in the last week than I have in months despite the buses rumbling past at all hours of the night and early morning.  Maybe the anticipation of something is always more anxiety-fuelled than the actual act of doing.  Or maybe it’s the fact that there is so much to take in that I sleep like a baby once the evening rolls around.

Bordeaux is certainly a beautiful city to explore with its many cafe-filled squares and long river quays – perfect places for a little time out.  There’s so much going on with weekly markets and monthly events that I can’t see us getting bored here.  And that’s not to mention the coast and countryside around the city (think of all those vineyards!)

I haven’t made much headway on my list of things I planned to do in Bordeaux but that’s ok, there’s plenty of time.  I am enjoying the buzz of the city though and I have spotted a yoga studio, one of many (!), that I plan to take a class in next week.

All in all it’s a strange and uncertain time right now.  A change of season, a change of place, a change of scenery.  Most of the time I feel hopeful and happy to be here and then there are moments of blind panic and fear.  But I guess that’s the way the cookie crumbles.  I’m trying hard to just let the fear wash over me when it comes and then get on with the next task.  And I always have my essential oils for a little self-medication.

I will keep you updated with my Bordeaux life and my work here.  And in the meantime if you have any tips or insights about moving to a new city, let me have them in the comments ♥

2 thoughts on “Now what?”

  1. My hearty … Bordeaux sounds lovely, autumn? Mooching around … Pain au chocolate and less rain so that you won’t hear the splash, splash, splash when the bus rolls by? You could try http://www.housesitters.com … Some long house sits available in exchange for cat/dog sitting xxx

Want to comment?

