September inspiration

September, a new month, the letting go of summer and the gentle ease into autumn.  This is one of my favourite times of the year and as I sit here by the open window feeling the slight chill of early morning, listening to the birds singing and the leaves rustling quietly on the trees, I know that I will soon be able to smell woodsmoke in the air, watch the greens of summer slowly fade, and dig out my warmer clothes in anticipation of long autumn walks……

I love the month of September, and this is what’s inspiring me this year:

  1. This view outside my open window ~ the perfect spot to watch the seasons change.View
  2. As this September is going to be a month of packing up I’ve also decided to make it a month of decluttering and downsizing.  I have moved so often in my adult life and it always feels like a headache.  It’s glaringly obvious that if I had less stuff moving would be way easier.  I don’t have a lot of stuff anyway but this month I’m really going for it and pushing for true minimalism with inspiration from Courtney Carver and her great blog be more with less
  3. In the same vein I’m getting great inspiration from two TINY HOUSE blogs: The simply named tiny house blog and Tammy Strobel’s blog Rowdy Kittens which is all about life in a tiny house.  I don’t know how tiny a house I could really live in but certainly if I had less stuff, I would need less space.  Simple!
  4. As well as decluttering my physical possessions I am also attempting to declutter my mind and am finding inspiration through Eckhart Tolle and The Power of Now.  Instead of buying the actual book I decided to listen to him with an audiobook.  It’s another great way to free up space and I sometimes find the act of listening more useful when trying to absorb information.Audio
  5. Reading a great book at the moment.  Bought secondhand and gifted to me for my birthday, I am reading Anita Brookner’s Look at Me.  Last year (another birthday gift) I read Hotel du Lac which was equally as captivating.  The author had her first novel published at the age of 53 (great news for all those writers who are beating themselves up for not getting published YET).  You can find an interview with the author here and an article about her writing here.
  6. Last on my list of inspiration are my newly purchased butters ~ olive, mango, avocado and shea butter ~ which will each be finding their way into some luscious body butters and healing balms this month along with my home-grown Calendula and a sprinkling of essential oils.  Watch this space for more information on my handmade skincare products.

What’s inspiring you this September?

4 comments

  1. Although October is my most favorite, I also love the month of September! I can’t even say how much I absolutely adore autumn! ❤ We had our first little bonfire out on the patio last night and it was so cozy, and I can't wait to see the leaves begin to change!
    Great list here Elizabeth, and I hope everything with your move goes smoothly. 🙂

  2. Love your photo — it makes me want to go for a long bike ride! 🙂 This year I’ve been working on getting rid of clutter too. Whatever’s not useful around my house has got to go!

    1. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment, Meg. I’ve just read your amusing story of finding random objects in the attic. How do these things get there? I only have a year’s worth of clutter to clear but even that is proving rather difficult 🙂

Want to comment?

