Inspiration, issues & comment, Nature, photography & France

Storm clouds and summer smoothies

It’s that kind of unsettled weather at the moment, hot one minute, stormy and raining the next, warm air mixed with a cool breeze.

I had breakfast on the front step today, breathing in the warm scent of summer, enjoying my banana and strawberry smoothie, watching the butterflies and bees around the huge pots of lavender that frame the front door, the stone steps warm beneath me.  It’s going to be so hard to leave here come the end of September. Storm clouds1

I suppose I feel a little like the weather, unsettled and unsure.  Looking forward to something new, new challenges and opportunities, but still it’s going to be hard to drag myself away from these open fields and this nature that has become part of who I am.  Or more likely the other way round.

It’s our last few days here for a little while.  Next week we head to the UK to catch up with family and friends and then on our return we have just a month to get ourselves sorted out and organised for our move to Bordeaux.  Nothing is planned yet, but that’s ok.  I feel strangely calm and serene about the move as if I’m harbouring some kind of deep-seated faith that all will be well.Smoothie1

Maybe “it is written” (have you seen Slumdog Millionaire?), maybe it is meant to be.  Is this how you feel when a decision is the right one?  Who knows?  But I’m certainly going to enjoy it while it lasts, this lack of worry and concern, and I’m going to enjoy the rest of our time here in this very special place.  I have no idea how things will look three months from now so I guess it’s time to just enjoy the ride and see where we end up.

What do you think?  Are things written in the stars?  If we follow our intuition and listen to our gut do we end up on the right path?  Or are we the ones who ultimately decide what our life’s path will be?  I’d love to know your thoughts ♥

2 thoughts on “Storm clouds and summer smoothies”

  1. Look at those clouds! I’m a big fan of the gut instinct… and I definitely know that feeling of “strangely calm and serene”. I think the bigger the decision, the more likely I am to find myself in that place of calm and trusting – maybe some part of me is wise enough to know that I couldn’t reason it out if I tried? Hope it lasts for you!

    1. Hey Bethany, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I love what you say about some part of you being wise enough to know that you couldn’t reason it out if you tried. I never thought of it like that 🙂

Want to comment?

