Inspiration, issues & comment

20 things you might not know about me

Sitting here next to the open window, a breeze is blowing through the trees, could be a storm later.  I can hear Running Boy outside, playing the guitar, beautiful gentle notes, the wind as percussion…….

Been feeling a lot lately like I’m shedding layers of myself, shedding my skin, just like the snakes and lizards around here, getting to know myself a little more with each layer that peels away, finding out who I really am.20 things

In my quest to get to know myself a little more, I’d like in turn to share a little more about myself with you.  Here’s my very random list of things you might not know about me:

  1. Born and raised in the northwest of England, I’ve lived and worked in seven countries across three continents and have travelled to and visited thirty-three more ~ no wonder I find it hard to settle in one place!
  2. I worry ~ A LOT ~ about EVERYTHING (including worrying too much)
  3. I am far happier in wellington boots or birkenstocks than high heels
  4. I cry often, usually for no particular reason ~ it is ALWAYS solved by a cup of tea and a cuddle
  5. I used to keep my classmates at school amused by pulling stupid faces but I hardly ever said a word
  6. I’m not sure my university education has helped me at all ~ if I had the chance to do it all again I would go for something involving more colour and less words
  7. I have a terrible memory and constantly forget passwords, locking myself out of various accounts ~ for some reason I don’t have the same problem with numbers
  8. I have bitten my fingernails for as long as I can remember and still find it a struggle not to nibble
  9. I get really excited about good drying days and love to see clean washing blowing in the wind
  10. I hate ironing and will go out of my way to avoid it ~ I have probably ironed about three items in the last five years
  11. I am a minimalist at heart and spend most of my life trying to figure out how to get rid of stuff
  12. I have been told more times that I can remember that I have “an overactive imagination” ~ I sometimes wonder whether I should write crime fiction as I can’t help pondering various ingenious plots for killing off unwanted characters
  13. If I have nothing to say I generally say nothing ~ I’ve been called shy (at best) and aloof and standoffish (at worst) ~ I now recognise myself as just plain old introvert
  14. I don’t work to routines ~ EVER ~ I’m far more haphazard than that
  15. But I’m very particular about how my toast is buttered ~ always to the edges, and how my eggs are cooked ~ always runny
  16. Dancing makes me throw my head back and laugh out loud ~ I don’t do it often enough
  17. The older I get the less I care what anyone else thinks
  18. I eat almost everything but will draw the line at raisins ~ squashed flies anyone?
  19. I don’t read or watch the news ~ I’m far happier without it
  20. I oscillate between sleeping like I’m dead (yes, people have checked I’m still breathing) and being a full-on insomniac

So now I’ve spilled the beans all over myself, what about you?  Anything you’d like to share about yourself?  Hit reply and leave me a comment ♥

17 thoughts on “20 things you might not know about me”

  1. This is wonderful Elizabeth. I can relate to # 2,3,6,7,8,14,16,17,19,20…quite a few. I see you’re using WordPress rather than Blogspot. I have accounts in both, and can’t get in…password memory issues. Does that ring a bell? Seems I only have time on Saturday or Sunday afternoon. So much going on. It’s always something here, and I’m very tired of it all. I just want to get started on this, without so much drama. Why does it always seem like I can’t figure things out. I told my husband, that I’m not sure if I’m meant to do this. Should it be so hard to get started to learn, etc.?

    1. Oh I know – so difficult to find time for everything and then to be such a technical wizard as well. Forgetting my passwords is becoming a real problem for me and on the last count I had almost thirty different accounts to potentially lock myself out from. Recently though I’ve started to get more organised and have unsubscribed from a lot of stuff just to simplify things – I’m feeling better already. Good luck with getting started 🙂

  2. What a wonderful list. Thanks for sharing. I have been thinking about doing a blog post on the same thing. You have given me inspiration.

    1. Hey Heather – glad I have given you inspiration 🙂 I was slow to get started but then had to cut the list down from thirty-five to twenty. Thought that was enought to share for now! Look forward to reading your post.

      1. 1- Born and raised in Lisbon, Portugal – Ive lived in 2 countries and visited 6 countries. My dream was always travelling around the world, but……but.
        2-I worry a lot too and Im a bit anxious about everything.
        3- I am far happier in high heels or without shoes ( Im the 8 or 80 ).
        4- I never cry. Im very enclosed in my shell.
        5- I dont remember you put stupid faces instead I remember you as a good teacher and friend.
        6- I never finished my studies in Journalism so I feel a bit frustrated about it . Instead I changed to Public Relations…..life sometimes is a bit tricky.
        7- I have an excelent memory.
        8- Ive never bitten my fingernails …..but about my big toe is another history…..dont ask !
        9- I get really excited when on the beach seeing the sunset and feeling a warm brise in my face, smelling sea.
        10- I hate cleaning dust….purely hate!….but I have to do it….ugh
        11- I am a ” keeper ” at heart . I like to keep ” memories “.
        12- I have my own world. A world of fantasy where I feel protect when things start to be ” rough ” , then I can find my balance living on my imagination the most amazing adventures.
        13- Im very quiet…..sometimes. Other times Im always laughing. ( Again 8 or 80 ).
        14- I hate routines ! Im too restless to cope with routines.
        15- Im very particular about my pancakes…..with loads of chocolate ! Yummy !
        16- Dancing makes me feel free. Freedom is the most important thing to me.
        17- The same as you. Completely agree.
        18- I dont eat meat and I hate ….but hate ……radish.
        19- I read everything ! See or listen not too much but read yes.
        20- I dont sleep too much.
        So , there you go. Isnt interesting how people can be so different ? Also I really appreciate the way you shared those things about yourself and want to say that you was a wonderful teacher and a great and funny friend always there to all of us. Thanks for that Elizabeth, I will never forget it ! xx

  3. I loved reading this! {Inspired by Cigdem perhaps? I did the same a while ago. 🙂 } I have been poring over your stunning photos and also found your partner’s blog and read a bit of that {very funny 🙂 }. In the best possible way I envy you living with your love in France and having done so much travel – it sounds idyllic. It’s lovely to come here and do a bit of vicarious French living. 🙂

    1. Tara, so lovely to see you here! Thank you for your kind comments 🙂 It is idyllic living here – I don’t know how things will pan out once we move to Bordeaux in the Autumn (if all goes as planned) and I don’t know how I’ll get on being back in a city but it’s exciting to plan all the same….. x

  4. Love it, especially 16…remember dancing at that festival in Brazil and we thought we had all the moves!

  5. I’m so sorry that it’s taken me until now to come over and discover your lovely blog Elizabeth! Looking forward to now keeping up with your future posts and somehow trying to catch up on many of those that I’ve missed. Oh and I can relate to quite a lot on your very open-hearted list above… particularly no.’s 6 and 13… and 17 is definitely starting to creep in! 🙂

    1. Hi Margot, lovely to see you over here – thanks for stopping by and for following my blog. It’s great to see what others relate to on my list. Yes, number 17 – I have to say that the less I care the better I feel as well 🙂

Want to comment?

