Nature, photography & France

Friday photo – name that plant

One of the things I love about living in the middle of the countryside is being able to take a walk with my camera and see what’s new.  Changing colours, new crops, different plants and flowers that pop up and then disappear with the seasons.  It’s quite magical.

Sometimes I recognise the flowers and blossoms I see but I often have to look them up.  This time I thought I would ask you, my dear reader, to see if you can name my latest finds…

Any ideas?  I’d love for you to let me know in the comments.

Happy weekend wanderings ♥

6 thoughts on “Friday photo – name that plant”

  1. I can help you with your first photo. Acacia flower (Locust flower) from the trees with the same name. The other weekend I collected some and made fritters!
    Hope for the sun to return before they are all blown off in the wind and the rain, or you’ll have to wait until next year.

    http://markbittman.com/foraging-for-fritters/

    I also collected a few Elderflower and made them into fritters too, before moving onto Elderflower Cordial. Hoping for some sunny weather to make another couple of litres.

    1. Kathy, thank you very much. They are beautiful trees, aren’t they? We have a few dotted around the garden. I had no idea you could make fritters from the blossom. What a lovely idea and thanks for the link. If the weather picks up I will also be out this weekend collecting elderflower.

  2. Purple one is Orchis mascula (Early-purple Orchid) http://www.wildflowersofireland.net/plant_detail.php?id_flower=356 and white one is Leucanthemum vulgare, the ox-eye daisy http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leucanthemum_vulgare.

    I like the Early-purple Orchid! I in general like native orchid because they are cute and like other plants you can grow them from seeds! I have Epipactis helleborine (Broad-leaved Helleborine) plants and seeds, if you would like seed exchange someday, let me know! 🙂

    1. Ooh thank you very much – you are spot on with the names. I’ve had a look at the links and each flower matches the description perfectly. I will update my photos with the new names ~ how exciting to be getting help from all corners of the world! I’ve also had a look at your blog and there seem to be many other flowers you’ve photographed that I’ve seen here in France so I may learn more new names yet. Thanks again for stopping by and leaving a comment. Oh, and for the offer of a seed swap 🙂

Want to comment?

