5 reasons to book a massage

Massage“All of us need touch…… In an increasingly over-stimulated and desensitised world, where mental activity has superseded the physical, massage provides the opportunity to keep in touch with your body and to feel it fully.”  Susan Mumford

When was the last time you had a really good massage?  I can still remember mine and wrote about it in a previous post.  Massage for me is not an indulgent treat but a necessity, like gentle exercise and a healthy diet.  As a massage therapist I obviously think we should all be having more massage but why should you really book a massage?  Here are my top five reasons:

1 ~ Massage can make you feel better.  Isn’t this the main reason why most people book a massage?  You want to come out of the massage feeling physically better with less muscular aches and pains, and mentally and emotionally better with less stress, more energy, a calmness of mind and a feeling of being more “at one” with things.

2 ~ It can boost your immune system.  What better time than the change of seasons to book a massage.  If you regularly suffer from lowered immunity when the seasons change then think about regular (seasonal) massage.  An enhanced state of relaxation is known to strengthen the immune system.  Make sure you book your massage before you get ill though.  Turning up to a session with a bad cold will not only risk the spread of germs but will also make you feel worse rather than better.

3 ~ It will improve your circulation.  Massage increases blood flow to the cells thus helping along the natural process of detoxification, the flushing out of toxins and other waste products from the body.  This is why your therapist will encourage you to drink plenty of water after the session to aid the detox process and avoid headaches and stiffness.  With regular massage you should see an improvement in the condition of your skin as toxins are removed and the natural healing process starts to take effect.

4 ~ It reduces stress.  Often just walking into a massage room with its low lighting and smell of essential oils is enough to restore calm after a hectic day.  But the immense power of touch as a de-stressor and an aid to general healing cannot be underestimated either.  In our (Western) society we often go out of our way to avoid touch so it may take some time to feel comfortable on the massage table.  This is especially true if you are suffering very high stress levels.  Most people however find that they relax into it within a couple of sessions.

5 ~ It promotes self-healing.  I truly believe that our bodies naturally want to be healthy and free from pain.  But sometimes we suffer pain for so long that we no longer take much notice, just accepting it as a sign of getting older or putting it down to an old injury.  We often suffer referred pain as well which means we may not know what is actually causing it.  What massage is often able to do is pinpoint the original problem area, bringing awareness to that area on a cellular level, thus encouraging and allowing the body to heal itself.

So, what are you waiting for?  Go book that massage!

What’s your experience of massage?  Is it good, bad?  Do you have regular massage?  How does it make you feel?

9 comments

  1. I’ve never had a massage, I mean not from a professional. My sister says hers are brutal and that she’s very sore afterward, so that has sort of scared me away from having one myself. I would just want a soothing, relaxing massage…

    1. What a shame you’ve been scared away from having a massage, Jewels. There are so many different style and techniques. I’ve heard that a lot are very brutal and I wouldn’t like that either. For me (when massaging) the trick is to give enough, but not too much pressure. There may occasionally be “good” pain and slight soreness or stiffness the next day if you’ve worked an area really hard, but my belief is that there doesn’t need to be any more than that. If the muscles are tensed because the client is in pain then you’re not going to be able to work them anyway! You have to follow your client’s need as everyone is different when it comes to the amount of pressure required in a massage. I like quite a lot of pressure but I certainly don’t like pain. Come over to France and have a nice soothing, relaxing massage from me 🙂

      1. Oh gosh I would LOVE to “come over to France.” For a massage, for the lavender fields… that would be a dream! ❤ And If that dream ever happened to come true, I'd definitely book a massage with you! 😉

  2. I’ve been on the “I’ll give you a massage if you give me one” program for years with my girlfriend but neither of us has given or received one in a while. May be time for a professional to step in….

    1. Hey Zachary, nice to see you here 🙂 Yes, sometimes it’s good to have a professional massage but it’s still a great thing to do as a couple. I don’t get the chance to see a therapist as often as I would like so have been teaching my boyfriend to give back massage. He seems to be a natural which is great for me!

Want to comment?

