Why spring equinox is the perfect time to bake a tangy lemon cake

Sounds bizarre I know but with it being spring equinox today I did have plans to write a meaningful blog all about finding balance in our lives.  However it was not to be, as when I sat down this morning to write I was overtaken by an extreme case of bloggers block.  I could not construct a meaningful sentence and words failed me as I wrote and rewrote the same line over again.

After struggling for some time with increasing frustration I realised there was only one thing for it.  Abandon my blog and bake!  With an excess of lemons I decided on a “tangy lemon cake” and realised that in abandoning my blogging I had found an activity that required the perfect balancing act.

In order for lemon cake to work and be the wonderful taste sensation it can be, it can’t be too sweet or sour, it can’t be too wet or dry, it can’t be too light or heavy.  You see?  Like spring equinox a good lemon cake is all about balance!

So in pictures this is how I spent my morning……..  (Click on the first photo to open in a slide show)

So where does all this leave me with my mental meanderings?  It probably means another post at some point but in the meantime I’m going to relax a little, go with the flow and stop forcing things.  I’m going to try to do more of what I want and less of what I think I should do.  I’m going to trust my intuition a bit more and see what happens….

And if you were waiting to see the finished product, here it is!  A perfect way to celebrate spring equinox.

Tangy lemon cake

Are you celebrating the change of season?  Let me know how by leaving a comment.

If you are as mad about lemons as me you may also like these posts: Reasons to love lemons and Recipe for lemon curd and if you are interested in the cook book I used for this recipe you can find it here.

5 comments

Want to comment?

