Inspiration, issues & comment

Feeling homesick

Although the sun has finally come out after more endless rain I find myself sitting here thinking of Britain and suddenly I want to go home.  I know it’s easy to wear rose-tinted glasses and only think of the positive but it’s more than that.  It’s a strange thing, the feeling of home.  What is it exactly?  Is it the familiar?  Is it the sense of family?  Or friends?  It feels like some sort of pull, some inner voice whispering “come home, come home”.

It’s certainly unsettling, I know that much.  It’s a beautiful day here, everything’s good but there’s something pulling me.  The thought of a British springtime, of cosy pubs and cafés, country walks and cups of tea.  Homesickness can paralyse you and stop you in your tracks.

I should be used to it.  This is the sixth country that I’ve called “home” but I still feel displaced albeit through my own choice.  I feel like I’m waiting, waiting, waiting.  For what?  To go home?  I don’t know.  I suppose this is a common thing amongst people living abroad, although funnily enough if you search on the internet for “homesickness” most information is based around students away at college.  As I remember back then I only felt excitement not homesickness.

Maybe that is the key.  Maybe living abroad has lost its excitement, its wonder of new and different places and cultures.  Maybe I’ve just become jaded in my old age!  Or maybe rural France is just not cutting the (dijon) mustard any more!  Who knows?  The feeling will go in a couple of hours.  It always does.  But for now I will sit and dream of cups of tea, the Union Jack, country pubs and victoria sponge cake………

Victoria sponge - photo courtesy of Vicky Milligan
Victoria sponge – photo courtesy of Vicky Milligan

What about you?  Do you ever feel homesick?  Are you a stranger in a strange land like I have been most my adult life?  I’d love to know….

4 thoughts on “Feeling homesick”

  1. I was just talking with my daughter this morning about Britain ~ I’ve never even been there, but feel “homesick” for it. Not sure what the deal is with that? Sorry you’re feeling homesick, Elizabeth. x

  2. I haven’t been here for a bit, hope you’re well! I certainly know what you are referring to! I’m from the USA (but have lived in 6 states), and have lived in Santiago, Chile for 4 years now. I love it but there are definitely times when going back would be nice – for me it’s not so much the place as my family. Hope you’re well and the feeling went away 🙂

    1. Ha – another kindred globe-wandering spirit! I’ve visited Santiago on my travels and loved it there too. It’s a funny thing, homesickness, it comes and goes but never stays too long. We have a few family visits coming up which is great. I think the arrival of spring has also boosted my spirits 🙂

Want to comment?

