Using aromatherapy to bust the blues

Are you suffering from the winter blues?  I think I am!  When I was taking the photo in my last post I got excited about the prospect of spring coming.  Premature I know, but I’m really aching to feel the sunlight on my face and to see the colour of new blooms against the greyness.

Can't get out of the winter fug?  Did you know that essential oils may help lift your mood?

Can’t get out of the winter fug? Did you know that essential oils may help lift your mood?

We’ve recently had a couple of days of beautiful spring weather.  Blue skies and warm sunshine.  Perfect for getting out of bed and doing something interesting.  Today is a different story though and I would much rather stay cocooned in my duvet than venture out into the grey stillness of winter.

For a long time I didn’t realise that I was affected by the weather and gave myself a hard time when experiencing a change in mood and a lack of energy.  I’m finally starting to recognise these patterns though, and while I like to get out and make the most of the nice weather, I’m also finding ways to cope with the dreary days.  Getting a fire going, baking bread and scones, reading and researching, and even getting out there for a hard run then coming back to a steaming hot bath.

I also use my store of essential oils to transport myself to a sunnier place and find that they have a subtle but noticeable effect on my mood.  If you’d like to use essential oils in a bath* or burner** then why not try some of my favourite blues-busting combinations:

  • Neroli (Citrus aurantium amara) and Sweet orange (Citrus sinensis) take us to the orange groves of Mallorca or Andalusia and are both well-known for their uplifting properties.
  • Grapefruit (Citrus paradisi), Frankincense (Boswellia thurifera) and Jasmine (Jasminum officinale) transport us to the hotter climes of Morocco and lazy travels through sun-bleached landscapes.
  • Thyme (Thymus vulgaris ct linalol), Lime (Citrus aurantifolia) and Cypress (Cupressus sempervirens) make us feel like we’re in the hills of Tuscany, breathing in the fresh scent of summer.
  • Vetiver (Vetiveria zizanoides), Ginger (zingiber officinalis) and Cardamom (Elettaria cardamomum) with their heady aromas take us on a discovery tour to the spice plantations of southern India and Indonesia.
  • Pine (Pinus sylvestris), Lavandin (Lavandula burnati) and Bergamot (Citrus aurantium bergamia) take us trekking along pine-clad beaches and through the lavender fields of Tasmania.

If you like the sound of these combinations why not try them out for yourself?

*For an essential oil bath add 4-6 drops of essential oil to 5ml of base oil and add to your bath

**For use in a burner add 2-4 drops of essential oil to a small amount of water (or follow instructions on the burner)

If you would like to try these blends then please note that all the oils listed can be bought from my Neal’s Yard Remedies Organic online shop where I am now an independent consultant.

What do you do to bust the winter blues?  Hit reply to leave me a comment and let me know.

2 comments

Want to comment?

