What’s in a word?

A lot, apparently!  Seems like everyone is choosing a word this year instead of thinking up new year resolutions to break.  I’m not a fan of resolutions, never have been on account of my rather stubborn nature.  Just can’t be told what to do, even if I’m the one doing the telling.

So the idea of choosing a word to live by this year appeals to me.  I’ve heard about it before but have never done it myself.  It’s not so easy.  What is the word that I want to bring into my life this year?  Live it, breathe it, sleep it, eat it.  There were many contenders but most of them fell at the first hurdle.  Nah!  They just weren’t meant to be.  But one word has been sneaking up on me, whispering in my ear, appealing to something deep inside, challenging me to let it in and choose it as my 2014 word of the year.Wild

Untamed, natural, pure.  This is what I want more of in my life.  This is why I moved from the city to the middle of the countryside last year, this is why I run and cycle along country lanes and dirt tracks rather than city parks and cycle paths, breathing in the clean air and experiencing the natural beauty around me.  This is why I’m taking the time to work on my own projects rather than bust my guts lining the pockets of yet another corporation.  This is why wielding an axe and chopping firewood speaks to me far more than keeping my hands clean and sitting in an office all day.

So in 2014 I’ll be taking some time to walk on the wild side, listening to the wild woman inside, and living an untamed life, as natural, pure and close to nature as I can.  Hope 2014 is a WILD year for you too!

Do you have a word for 2014?  Share in the comments!

6 comments

  1. I had “wild and sweet” in my head for weeks, from the Christmas carol! “And wild and sweet the words repeat — peace on earth, goodwill to men”. It kept making me think of strawberries (which I love)! The “word” (more of a phrase, really) that I decided called to me the most was “rise and shine”.

    Maybe I should post about it, let myself shine 😉

    1. Hi Zachary, thanks for stopping by. Glad you like my pictures – they’re all my own (bar one that I used from Pinterest). I like mooching around with my camera. So yes, I decided to make Wild is my official word this year – we’ll see how that goes 🙂

Want to comment?

