Inspiration, issues & comment

The art of self acceptance

“Because true belonging only happens when we present our authentic, imperfect selves to the world, our sense of belonging can never be greater than our level of self-acceptance.”        Brené Brown

In denial? Try a little self acceptance.
In denial? Try a little self acceptance.

If you’ve been looking down my blog sidebar you will notice I’m a fan of Brené Brown.  It started with a couple of TED talks and then I downloaded the audiobook “The gifts of Imperfection: Let go of who you think you’re supposed to be and embrace who you are”.  As you might guess I am on a mission to get back to the real me and am determined to practise a little more self acceptance along the way.

I came to terms with something recently that I have been trying to deny for years.  I realised that I am happier moving around than being fixed in one place.  Since I packed in the corporate world  in 1998 I have lived in twenty different apartments in six different countries, not to mention travelling and being on the go for over two years.  It’s tiring!

But do you know what?  For almost ten of the last fifteen years I actually believed that I wanted to settle down and stay in one place.  The result of this was a bunch of half-hearted projects and a lack of commitment as I flounced from one place to the next, never putting roots down and going wherever the next opportunity lay.  I was always looking ahead to the next big thing believing that once I got there I would stop and settle down and THEN I could do what I really wanted.

Well guess what?  That never happened!  I’m still on the go, but what has been a remarkable turnaround for me is learning to accept that this is how I roll.  Maybe I was never meant to be in one place.  Maybe, like Springsteen, I was “born to run”.

What a relief to finally realise and accept this instead of beating myself up because I couldn’t do what I thought I should.  This means I am now able to adapt what I do to my circumstances.  Working online so that I can move around has enabled me to start building something long-term rather than always looking at the short-term option.  A little bit of self acceptance has changed the way I work and given me the freedom I so obviously need.

For me the art of self acceptance is a long road to travel but I’m starting to do it one step at a time.

Want to take part in the discussion?  Leave me a message and let me know what you have recently learned to accept about yourself!

5 thoughts on “The art of self acceptance”

  1. Elizabeth, what a powerful realization. It’s funny in that I just realized exactly the opposite. I *thought* I wanted to be a nomad and live everywhere and nowhere, but after this year of traveling to 3 continents and always being on the go, I realized that I was unhappy and stressed. It took me a while to come to terms with this and I thought I’d *lose face*, but in the end the only thing that matters is our happiness, right? So glad you accepted what you really want. 🙂 Oh, and I adore Brene Brown too.

  2. Lovely realisation! It’s funny how we always seem to want something else and don’t appreciate or value what we have strived for. I also adore Brene Brown!

    1. Hi Terri, thanks for stopping by. For so long I was the “grass is always greener” girl but it’s only when you stop and look around at what you already have that you can start to move forward and really build something. Took me a long time to figure this out…..

Want to comment?

