Inspiration, issues & comment

Do you know your limits?

Geese heading west
Geese heading west

A couple of days ago we went for a walk through the fields and little country lanes, past swollen rivers and sturdy trees hanging on to the last of their colourful leaves.  As we wandered along we heard something, a cacophony of noisy chattering that was getting louder and louder and as we looked up into the sky we saw the most amazing sight of lines and lines of geese migrating.  Heading west towards the Atlantic.  They must have been in their thousands.

We stood and watched them fly overhead, mouths agape, marvelling at the neat formations and thinking fleetingly of their freedom to just fly away to warmer climes with nothing to hold them back.  My boyfriend looked at me and said, “I think we could be up there”.

Why not?  We really are only limited by our own beliefs and the beliefs of others.  Of course we can’t be up in the sky with the geese, flapping our winds and heading to Africa, but we all have more freedom than we think.

“It’s time that I stop referring to myself, thinking about myself, planning for myself, according to the gridlines and the timelines and the guidelines of people. I will expand in this universe, I will not stay on the lines nor within the lines written by this world.”   C Joybell C

Why do we limit ourselves to what we already know?  I love the idea of giving ourselves time to dream.  Idly gazing into the distance on train journeys.  Drinking our coffee.  Hanging out the washing.  I do it all the time and can often be found staring into space, a slightly glazed expression on my face.  Daydreaming is where all of my “hare-brained” ideas come from.  Of course some are completely mad but everything we do starts with something, some idle thought, a seed of inspiration.  What if we abandon the idea that there are limits to what we can do?  What might we then achieve?

Do you see yourself as limitless or are you limited by your beliefs and the beliefs of others? 

2 thoughts on “Do you know your limits?”

  1. I love daydreaming too and people used to make fun of me for just staring into space. But like you say, that’s where the best ideas come from and where would this world be without those crazy ideas, right? I’m all for crushing your limits and believing we can do more than we currently realize. So, dream on. 🙂

Want to comment?

