The true essence of aromatherapy

What is the true essence of aromatherapy?  A complicated question and one that is difficult to define in a single post, but here is my very simple explanation.  As I said yesterday, it’s all about the vibes!

Lavender and rosemary - two beautiful and versatile oils to use in aromatherapy

Lavender and rosemary – two beautiful and versatile oils to use in aromatherapy

Aromatherapy is a beautiful and ancient art where the powerful properties of plants are harnessed and used to help us heal, whether it be physically, emotionally or spiritually.  This is made possible by using concentrated plant essences in the form of essential oils.  As an indication to the strength and powerful nature of the oils it can take over thirty roses to produce a single drop of rose essential oil!

We are literally harnessing the energy, the vital force of the plant, through the process of distillation, so when we hold a bottle of essential oil in our hands, it is this “life-force” that we have hold of.  In the words of Marguerite Maury,

“What is understood by essence, in the pure sense……, is the actual energy, the “soul” of the plant.”

If you have ever read Patrick Süskind’s Perfume you will already have an idea about the notion of plants having a soul.  It is this soul, this energy, this vital force that vibrates and works with us, our bodies, our minds and our own vibrational energy to bring about healing and change.  You just have to look at the plants to get a sense of how they can help us.  The strength of the trees, the flexibility and balance of the herbs, the creativity of the flowers and blossoms.

Obviously I could go on, but in a nutshell there you have it.  There is more to aromatherapy than meets the eye – or the nose.  It’s not and never has been just about smell!

I’d love your comments and feedback.  What is aromatherapy to you?

5 comments

  1. Love aromatherapy especially when it’s used in a massage. I used to dabble myself years ago, along with my crystals but moved on to other things, lots and lots of other things. I have recently found myself moving back to these things and more crafty things like sewing again.

  2. Fascinating! I love the idea of plants having a soul. I have to say I never thought about it that way, but it’s intriguing to me. Thanks for opening the world of aromatherapy to us more and more.

  3. Hi Deborah…. Aromatherapy is wonderful and can be used for anything and everything. I know that when I am just feeling down… ( which sometimes I forget this… I seem to only remember when I am in a good mood.. LOL) that smelling my favorite smells, of cinnamon and cloves together or citrus or the smells of fresh baked cookies… those things can bring your spirits up, transform you back into the person you were. It is such a little thing!!! yet can do so much! That is why I love to take a bubble bath every now and then for no other reason than just to smell the scent of the bath wash I put in…. or light a bunch of scented candles around me wherever I am. It makes you feel so good!!! Good one!! I like this. 🙂

Want to comment?

