Aromatherapy, essential oils & potions

Love bombs from ancient times

Leaf hearts
Leaf hearts

I’ve been re-reading a lot of my aromatherapy books recently and while spending a comfy few hours with Marguerite Maury’s Guide to Aromatherapy I came across this:

“The famous love potion of Tristan and Isolde was composed of extracts of frangipani, frankincense, orange blossom and marjoram.  These “love” philtres were not merely aphrodisiacs.  By making two people drink the same concoction, their purpose was to bring about a phenomenon………  A contact was undoubtedly established which turned out to be as powerful as magnetic attraction.”

So there you have it, the love potions of old were not just aphrodisiacs as many think, they also worked on a more subtle level, with the energetics and vibrational qualities of the plants.  I’ll be talking more about this in tomorrow’s post but for now rest assured – it’s all about the vibes!

So what vibes are we going to get from the four plants mentioned?  Well, a combination of the four oils will leave us feeling warm and relaxed (Marjoram), confident and comfortable in ourselves (Frangipani).  Anxiety and agitation will lessen as we feel a sense of lightness and creativity (Orange Blossom), moving away from the present and allowing ourselves to dream (Frankincense).

Sitting here writing this I can tell you it’s a wonderful combination.  I’ve had it burning for the past hour and would recommend it not just for love, but for any new situation we find ourselves in where we want to feel relaxed, confident, creative and comfortable in our own skin.

Try making your own modern day love bomb by diluting a couple of drops of essential oil in water and adding it to an oil burner, or by adding a couple of drops of essential oil to your favourite carrier oil (almond or jojoba) and mixing it in with your bath.

What’s your modern day love potion?  Leave a comment and let me know.

4 thoughts on “Love bombs from ancient times”

    1. Hi Amy, glad you are enjoying my posts! I just started a ten-day challenge which is good practice. As far as oil burners are concerned there are so many out there but I tend to go with the simple ones. I did have a beautiful glass one that I unfortunately cracked so now I use the all-in-one ceramic burners that have a little opening for the tealight and a low dish on top for the water and essential oils. I have to say I have never used an electric one but I believe they are very good and you can get some very nice designs – may have to look into it as I get through an awful lot of tealights!

Want to comment?

