What’s your potential?

“Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”  Christopher Robin to Winnie the Pooh (A.A.Milne)

I saw this quote recently and, remembering my younger Winnie the Pooh years, it really spoke to me.  Especially right now at the start of this blog which, as I mentioned in my last post, is something I find a little scary.  It got me thinking about potential so I decided to talk a little about my plans.  

One of my aims for this blog is to help you to incorporate aromatherapy into everyday life.  I’m not talking about all guns blazing, knocking ourselves out with overpowering amounts of lavender and patchouli.  I’m talking about subtle, small changes we can make with a couple of specially chosen oils.  We don’t need to spend a huge amount of money on a great hulking case full of oils.  We just need to choose carefully.  Oils that really speak to us have a huge potential to benefit us, whether it’s on a purely physical level or an emotional or spiritual level.  That’s one of the beauties of essential oils.  They can work on a number of different levels and we take from them what we need.

Lavender products for sale in a Provence market

Lavender products for sale in a Provence market

I’ll be writing a series of posts letting you know how we can use essential oils to bring about subtle change and a better sense of balance in our everyday lives.  How many people look in their bathroom cabinet and find little bottles of old, dusty oils?  They uncap them and take a sniff, nearly keeling over as the smell of a neat essential oil evaporates up their nostril leaving a slight burning sensation and a feeling of light-headedness.  The bottle is quickly re-capped and put back in the cabinet to gather dust once more.  I’ve even been donated bottles of essential oil with comments like “Oh you’re an aromatherapist aren’t you?  Do you want this?  I found it when I was having a clear out and don’t really know what to do with it.  I bought if from some shop when I was on holiday and I’m not really sure it did any good…….”  I’ve received a few of these bottles, ancient, labels peeling off, smelling rather jaded (the oils do go off and need to be replaced).  I take them willingly with a smile of thanks, putting them in my pocket to be disposed of later.

Through situations like this and various comments I’ve heard, I’ve realised that aromatherapy can seem a little mysterious, kind of hippy, a tad woo woo.  I’ve seen that look come across someone’s face when I tell them I’m an aromatherapist.  “Oh yes, yes, of course, essential oils, very nice.”  The conversation is quickly changed as it becomes apparent that many people really have no idea what I do or what aromatherapy involves.  If they would just ask they would see me light up as I explain why I have such a passion for these tiny bottles of oil.  If people do know aromatherapy then they are the ones who light up when they tell me about their favourite oils or a recent session they had.

I want to bring aromatherapy out of its hiding place and share my love for it and for the plants themselves, sitting quietly behind the scenes.  Knowing and using essential oils has been a positive force in my life and the lives of my clients and I would love to pass on the benefits and true potential of this beautiful ancient healing art to others.

What about you?  Please leave me a comment if there is something specific you would like to know?  A question you have or something you’re not sure about.  Why do you use essential oils and what do you do with them?  I’d love to help you out and will try to incorporate any questions into future posts. 

One comment

  1. I love, love, love aromatherapy and I’m jealous that your title is “aromatherapist.” How cool! I look forward to reading your blog to learn how to best use the essential oils I currently have – lavender that I got in Provence many years ago and keep in my bedside table; tangerine and jasmine.

Want to comment?

